Quick update on the cantilevered roller coaster model. I used my VB catscript to quickly and easily create the cross-ties for the upper and lower rails. I also modeled all of the supports and cement footers. Pictured is one of the "side/head knocker" effects where it looks like you are about to run into a post before the cantilevered car serves out of the way in the nick of time. There is also an overview of the layout. Video coming soon!
Welcome to the CAD Systems Help Blog! The online resource for computer aided design drawings, models, courses, services, training, hints, tips, tricks, and more!
Showing posts with label Manikin. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Manikin. Show all posts
Saturday, December 11, 2010
Wednesday, August 4, 2010
CATIA Kinematics Simulation from Manikin's POV
I am modeling a new type of roller coaster in CATIA. In order to test this new coaster concept I need to run the simulation from the viewpoint of the manikin riding in the car. Whether you are modeling a roller coaster or a sports car, here is how it is done:
First, make sure this option under Tools > Options>Ergonomics is set:
For the line of sight, create a camera in View - Named View and then position it close to your manikin head.
Next, attach the camera to the head of the manikin with the "attach/detach" function and change the property to perspective.
You can open a camera view window while in DMU Nav by using the Window Menu, you can open the Camera window:
Use this Camera window for recording.
The only downside is when I simulate in the camera view it automatically switches the geometry to "shading with edges" instead of what I want to see, which is "shading with material." Anyone know if there is an option somewhere to change this?
First, make sure this option under Tools > Options>Ergonomics is set:
For the line of sight, create a camera in View - Named View and then position it close to your manikin head.
Next, attach the camera to the head of the manikin with the "attach/detach" function and change the property to perspective.
You can open a camera view window while in DMU Nav by using the Window Menu, you can open the Camera window:
Use this Camera window for recording.
The only downside is when I simulate in the camera view it automatically switches the geometry to "shading with edges" instead of what I want to see, which is "shading with material." Anyone know if there is an option somewhere to change this?
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)










